Thompson Ridge

Thompson Ridge from the trail to Lamarck Lakes. Mt. Thompson (c. 13,500 feet) at right.

After every mountain trip, as I review my pictures again and again, there are usually one or two pictures that grow on me. Such is a picture that I took in the summer of 2008. I was descending the trail from Lower Lamarck Lake in late afternoon. The sun’s angle was beginning to bring out the texture and details of mountain and forest.

The view was through the wooded saddle of a ridge at the head of a short valley. Framed in that saddle was the thirteen-thousand foot ridge between the Middle and South Forks of Bishop Creek.

The lines in those cliffs drew my eyes and heart upward. On the saddle and below it, the tall, straight pines seemed to point to the sky. Everything in the scene pointed upward into the broad, limitless sky.

When I view that picture, everything in it is pointing to the sky. It’s reminding me to look up into that limitless sky and be empowered by its limitless possibilities and the power of this wonderful world. It’s telling me to go and do.

About David McCoard

After earning my MS in geology I've done various things including managing the ski touring program at a small lodge in the Sierra. In 2010 I retired from Contra Costa College in California. I've always been fascinated by the mountains and nature and have spent countless days hiking, backpacking, climbing and skiing in the Sierra. The spiritual insights I've learned there have set the course for my life. Now I have time to share them and strike up a conversation.
This entry was posted in Mountain Experiences and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the conversation!

