Our common humanity

I’ve increasingly become aware of our common humanity all around the globe. Each of us, wherever we may live, whatever our culture, religion or the color of our skin, has the same kinds of feelings, hopes and dreams.

This was brought home to me once again on this summer’s vacation in Yosemite’s Tuolumne Meadows.

During my 12-day stay in my campsite I shared the site with a young couple from Spain and with two young women from Denmark–all delightful campmates! The Spanish couple has spent four months working in a New Zealand winery and by now are in their next 3-month stint in Oregon, seeing how wine is made around the world.

At and around the store and the visitor center, I heard a variety of languages and accents. At nightly ranger-led campfires families and individuals from many countries proudly shared the countries they had come from.

The National Parks  draw the world together, with people from all over converging to experience and appreciate the wonderful natural world of which each of us is part.

More on my vacation later this week.

About David McCoard

After earning my MS in geology I've done various things including managing the ski touring program at a small lodge in the Sierra. In 2010 I retired from Contra Costa College in California. I've always been fascinated by the mountains and nature and have spent countless days hiking, backpacking, climbing and skiing in the Sierra. The spiritual insights I've learned there have set the course for my life. Now I have time to share them and strike up a conversation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the conversation!

