Space

View south from Monarch Divide, Kings Canyon National Park

View south from Monarch Divide, Kings Canyon National Park

Standing on the crest of an 11-thousand foot ridge above the South fork of the Kings River, I look down toward the river, out of sight over 6,000 feet below. The early morning sun lights east-facing slopes.

As I lift my eyes the view expands to ridges and peaks stretching to the distant horizon. I am overcome by a feeling of both depth and space. The scale is huge and the expanse is unlimited, from the rocks at my feet to the depths of the canyon, to the faraway peaks, and the limitless sky above.

This is truly a world with an inconceivable range of dimensions and processes–from the atomic and submicroscopic level; to the building blocks of rocks, soil and life; to the rich ecology of life from tiny microbes to giant Sequoias, rich forests, animals, birds, fish, ourselves, and the food we eat.

What a privilege and blessing to have been made part of all this–me, you and every living being at the very deepest level!  Prayer of thanks.

 

About David McCoard

After earning my MS in geology I've done various things including managing the ski touring program at a small lodge in the Sierra. In 2010 I retired from Contra Costa College in California. I've always been fascinated by the mountains and nature and have spent countless days hiking, backpacking, climbing and skiing in the Sierra. The spiritual insights I've learned there have set the course for my life. Now I have time to share them and strike up a conversation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the conversation!

